Blackfaced Sheep Breeders Association


Copyright.North of England Blackface Sheep Breeders Association 2011


Hexham Auction Mart – 14th February 2018

The stock judging event was held at Hexham Auction Mart, with a total of 125 competitors taking part across the four classes.

High quality sheep were presented to Master judge Mr Allan Alderson and loaned to the event from the following supporters.

North of England Blackface Ewes – Mr Willie Woodman, Great Chesters

Mules - Mr Ian Hamilton, Claywalls

North of England Blackface Ewe Hoggs - Mr Ivor Allonby, Laneside and Mr Harold Birkbeck, Castle Hill Farm

Swaledales – Mr Dan Humble, Burtree ford

North of England Blackface Tups – Messes A Murray and Sons, Sewindshields  

Scotch Type Blackface Ewe Hoggs – Mr Adi Carruthers, Peel A Hill

North of England Blackface Gimmers - Mr Selby Robson, Yatesfield

Bluefaced Leicesters – Miss Zoe Hall, Horsleyhill Farm Cottage

Scotch Type Blackface Tup Hoggs – Wanwood Partners, Wanwood Hill

Cheviot Ewe Hoggs – Mr Dallas Allan, Humbleheugh

Allan expertly judged all classes and then awarded the Overall Champion to the first prize Leicester Tup Hogg from Zoe Hall.

Winner of the bottle of whiskey for the competitor drawn from the hat who agreed with the judge was Mark Batty.

The Potter Wood/Henry Walton Shears for the best presented pen of sheep went to the Scotch tup Hoggs from Philip and Dan Walton, Wanwood hill.

An open class for North of England Type Tup Hoggs, supported by Robson & Cowan Country Store, Scots Gap, had a small but quality show forward.  Allan made his awards as follows:

1st Sewingshields, 2nd  Sewingshields, 3rd Wanwood Hill


A good entry of Scotch Type Tup Hoggs, supported by Carrs Billington Agriculture, was forward and once again expertly judged by Allan with the awards as follows:

1st Dudlees, 2nd Wanwood hill, 3rd Dudlees

Winners of the Stock Judging Competition were as follows:

Open Class

1st Dick Batey, 2nd Lewis Hunter, 3rd Ian Savage

Ladies Class

1st Zoe hall, 2nd Fiona Goodfellow, 3rd Eve Rutherford

YFC Class

1st Lewis Hunter, 2nd David Robson, 3rd Gemma Common

Under 16

1st Lewis Hunter, 2nd John-Will Bell, 3rd Charlotte Watson

The branch is extremely grateful for the generous support of Carrs Billington Agriculture, Robson & Cowan, For Farmers Feeds and Tynedale insurance for their sponsorship of the event.

Thanks also go to the Directors and Staff of Hexham Auction Mart for the use of the mart premises and to Chris Armstrong for acting as MC and to the Master Judge for the evening Mr Allan Alderson.

Overall Champion from Zoe hall

Champion Hexham tup Hogg from A Murray and sons

Champion Scotch type Tup Hogg from Steven Mackay